Select Page
NOC Banner

About Us:

The North Texas Association of Technology Directors (NTATD) was spurred out of a TIF Collaboration Grant with Weatherford College in 1998.  This grant targeted small schools in the WC’s serving area.

This grant provided much needed technology and connectivity to the small schools in the area.  One of the grant requirements was a collaboration of the schools including meeting together at least once a quarter.  The schools’ technology directors found this quarterly meeting so valuable, they began meeting monthly as a way to help each other with technical and other issues.

Even though the grant concluded a short time later, the technology directors continued meeting monthly and expanded into an informal purchasing coop.  A much larger voice was heard from the collaborative (rather than individual schools) when talking to vendors.  This proved valuable when negotiating contracts and services.

As the years progressed, the monthly meetings continued.  Each year, a president, vice president, secretary are elected.  One of the schools volunteers as the financial agent each year to handle the dues ($100 per district) the group began collecting to help pay for lunch at the monthly meetings.

In the early 2000’s, the NTATD members had a need for technical training.  We determined that we could hire a trainer for a week much cheaper than each individual school could pay for travel expenses to attend training in the Metroplex.  For several years, NTATD offered training to its members including: Windows Server 2000, Windows Server 2003, Microsoft Exchange, and Lightspeed.  We used the revenue generated from the training to cover the expenses of the trainer and any left over funds were used to create a scholarship fund.  Over the course of 10 years, 14 seniors from member districts were awarded scholarships ranging from $500 to $1000.

As the years progressed, the NTATD collaboration now includes a list serve that has almost 100 members across the state of Texas.  Approximately 10-15 schools are represented at the monthly meetings hosted at a different member school each month.

The primary benefit NTATD provides now is a common think-tank of Technology Directors.  These include Tech Directors in smaller environments where needs are vastly different than larger schools.

Founding Member Districts:

Alvord ISD
Boyd ISD
Brock ISD
Bryson ISD
Erath-Excels Academy
Garner ISD
Gordon ISD
Graford ISD
Lipan ISD
Millsap ISD
Palo Pinto ISD
Paradise ISD
Peaster ISD
Perrin-Whitt CISD
Ponder ISD
Poolville ISD
Santo ISD
Strawn ISD
Slidell ISD